The Highveld Hawks to defend their title

PUBLISHED: 25 June 2019

Muzi Yeni (Nkosi Hlophe)

The popular New Turf Carriers Inter-Provincial Rider Cup is scheduled for Sunday, July 21, at Greyville.

The Highveld Hawks defended their New Turf title last year and will be out for three-on-the-bounce.

Last year’s Hawks team of Muzi Yeni (captain), Craig Zackey, Ryan Munger and Raymond Danielson (subbed in for the injured Lyle Hewitson) amassed 146 points to the Cape Eagles total of 137 and the KwaZulu-Natal Falcons 127.

The Victor Laudorum prize for the leading individual jockey went to Aldo Domeyer of the Eagles.

The teams are chosen from the top three riders on the national log in each province with the fourth member of each team being decided by the captain.

Based on the NHA’s National Stats at May 31, the following would be the makeup of the teams for the 2019 Rider Cup.


L Hewitson (Captain)
M Yeni
G Lerena
+ Captain’s Pick


G Cheyne (Captain)
R Fourie
B Fayd’herbe
+ Captain’s Pick


Marcus (Captain)
W Kennedy
K de Melo
+ Captain’s Pick

Under the competition rules, winning rides collected 20 points for a team, second places 16 points, thirds 14 – on a descending scale over the 12 runners, with last place garnering a single point.

As winning team member last year Munger said: “It’s a great initiative, with everyone trying really hard – right down to last place.”

By Andrew Harrison